Reply To: Revisions to deck post-tender

Holman’s Hanymen
Participant

Hello Ivan

I’m a bit of a novice with decks but a nice design.

I am just in the process of researching details for decks to cost out some ideas for a customer and the issues are very relevant.  Unfortunately I don’t have the guides and codes available so am trying to put together details from scratch so that I can also apply to other jobs if they arise.  Whilst I am a jack of all trades (and consider myself to be very practical) I also have an engineering background.

I generally support the points Karl has made and if the contractor wishes to change the design he should provide justification (structural and durability) and any cost saving of his alternative design.  Any changes can then be considered against the cost savings with your client.  

•  I spec’d the deck with 100x100mm posts at maximum 1.2m centres, with notched tops to posts. Contractor wants to do without notched tops and just use 2 No. bolts to screw bearers to side of upright posts – any thoughts?

Notches provide an ideal way for the weight of the joists to bear directly on the support without the load being transferred through the fixings.  Notches are a fag to cut but the joists could be supported on a flat topped post using timber plate connectors.  If bolts are going to be used I would use toothed timber connectors – possible belt & braces but ensures mechanical resistance.  Also, if bolts are used (and not recessed) they will obstruct any vertical boards applied as skirtings.

•  I specified galvanised decking post shoes at the base of each post rather than set the posts into concrete by upto 600mm. This was partly with the view that if the deck ever needs replacing, the same foundations could be used, rather than having to re-dig. Contractor wants to set posts into foundations and avoid using galvanised shoes.